miso chicken ramen

I had my first bowl of ramen in March 2016. I could not believe I had gone 21 years without ever having ramen that wasn’t Maruchan instant noodles! It was a shockingly different dish from the salty, thin broth-ed soup of my youth. As I had more experiences with ramen and became more interested in cooking, I was excited to find a recipe for ramen that I could make. LOL! If anyone else has looked into making ramen from scratch at home, they know it is a long and fussy process. Fortunately, there are versions of ramen in between traditional and instant. This is one!

Though I aspire to eat entirely vegan, I also prioritize wasting as little food as possible, which means that I sometimes eat meaty leftovers that no one else wants. In this case, I had some shredded chicken on hand from a friend who was going out of town and wouldn’t be able to eat it. I was craving something warm and comforting, and decided to try my hand at a ramen-y noodle soup. It turned out to be really delicious! The broth was rich, savory, and salty, and everything else was nice and simple. I think this could pretty easily be made with tofu or mushrooms if you want to make it vegan-friendly. Otherwise, everything else is vegan! It was really satisfying, and very easy to make. I’m excited to look around for more pseudo-ramen recipes. If you’re looking for a vegan, full-on ramen experience, though, here’s a recipe that I haven’t tried but that looks delicious from Serious Eats. Enjoy!

IMG_3566
watching Jane the Virgin while I eat…a tasty treat for mind and body!

Makes 1 hearty bowl

1 tbsp. sesame oil

2 cloves garlic

1″ knob ginger

1/2 c. shredded chicken (or other protein)

1 1/2 c. vegetable broth

2 tsp. red miso paste

1 tbsp. soy sauce

2 tsp. rice vinegar

1 3 oz. package of Maruchan ramen noodles or whatever kind of noodles you want (these were the only ramen noodles I had access to! Plus they are suuuuuper cheap)

2 scallions, sliced however you want

Red pepper flakes to taste if you want some spice

  1. Heat sesame oil in a medium pot over medium heat.
  2. Once heated, add garlic, and cook until fragrant, about 30 sec.-1 min.
  3. Add the ginger and the chicken, and cook to get some good flavor into the chicken. Saute for 2-4 minutes. (If using tofu, you can either add it uncooked at the end if it’s silken tofu, or you can saute it now if it’s not silken tofu. If you’re cooking the tofu, I would make remove it before adding the broth so that it retains some shape, but this is a totally personal choice! If using mushrooms, do it like the chicken.)
  4.  Add broth, and cook for a few minutes to heat broth all the way through.
  5. Add soy sauce and vinegar.
  6. Once broth is nice and warm, put the miso paste in a bowl or liquid measuring cup and add the hot broth. Stir (a fork or whisk works well here) until it’s dissolved in the broth, and then add the mixture back to the pot.
  7. Add the noodles, and cook until they’re done, about 4 minutes.
  8. Remove the soup from the heat, and serve with red pepper flakes and scallions.
Leave a Reply

