lentil and hummus wrap

I made Patricia Wells’ green lentil salad (which I found through Food52’s Genius Recipes series) and put it in a wrap, and it was AWESOME! I’ve been watching a lot of Youtube videos about easy lunch ideas, and most of them involve wraps, so I’ve been craving one for a while.  I finally got my shit together and made some for lunch this week!

I’ve included the recipe for the lentils here, as well as the recipe for the wrap. After you make the lentils, it’s super quick.  Altogether, the wrap is very easy, filling, cheap, and delicious! And, like I said in an earlier post, it’s nice to have cold lunches so I don’t feel weird about forcing everyone to smell my lunch (even if it smells delectable). Enjoy!

The Wrap

1/3 c. of hummus (this week, mine was homemade which I think is more delicious and ends up being cheaper if you make it more than once, but tahini is kind of an annoying overhead cost and you need some sort of blender/food processor SOOO it’s totally unnecessary to make it if you can’t make it or if you’d simply prefer to buy) (recipe below)

1/3 c. of Patricia Wells’ Green Lentil Salad (recipe below)

About a handful of carrots, thinly sliced

1-2 c. of loosely packed romaine lettuce or other leafy veggie

1 tortilla/whatever flatbread you want

  1. Spread hummus on the tortilla.
  2. Add lentils, carrots, and lettuce on top of the hummus however you want.
  3. Wrap that sucker up! You’re done!

Patricia Wells’ Green Lentil Salad (as published on Food52) (this is the original recipe but halved, which was the perfect amount of lentils for 5 lunches, but I kept the original amount of vinegar and garlic because I love vinegar and garlic)

1/2 lb.green or brown lentils

1/2 medium onion, stuck with 2 cloves

garlic clove, peeled

bay leaf

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Salt and black pepper to taste

  1. Rinse lentils and discard any pebbles. Place lentils, onion, garlic and bay leaf in a medium saucepan and cover with cold water by 1 inch. Cover and bring to a boil over medium heat.
  2. Reduce heat to low and simmer, covered, until lentils are tender, 25-35 minutes. Add liquid as needed.
  3. Discard onion, garlic and bay leaf and drain any excess liquid. Whisk vinegar, oil and salt together in a small bowl. Pour over warm lentils and toss.
  4. Before serving, season with pepper and additional salt, if necessary. Serve warm. (I haven’t been serving this warm and it’s still really good)

Homemade hummus

1 15 oz. can of chickpeas, drained and liquid reserved

1/4 c. tahini

3+ cloves of garlic (I’m a garlic person and ended up using about 4)

2 tsp. ground cumin

2 tsp. paprika

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tbsp. olive oil

Salt and black pepper to taste

  1. Add all ingredients to a food processor, a blender, or a bowl and use a hand/immersion blender (this is what I did; just be careful of splattering!)
  2. Blend! Add the chickpea liquid as needed to aid the blender/food processor.
  3. Taste and adjust the seasoning if needed.

Leave a comment